Materialism

I like this from Jesus and Mo. Especially as I often get criticised for my “materialism” – which seems to be used interchangeably with “scientific naturalism.”

Similar articles

Enhanced by Zemanta
7 responses to “Materialism

  1. I think the critiques would generally be aimed at your faith that the physical/material realm is all there is. Materialism in the sense of consumerism/greed is a separate topic and you are right to question the empire building of some churches.

    Like

  2. It’s funny how people of “faith” use that word to denigrate others!

    I think this cartoon does more than “question” the crass materialism of religion. It points out its hypocrisy.

    Like

  3. Richard Christie

    And it’ll cost you 28 Euro just to take a look at Benedict’s loot, (price for on-line ticket, no guide, a little less if you are prepared to join block-long queues for hours outside the Vatican Museum).

    Like

  4. I visited the Vatican Museum over 20 years ago. My memory was of the money changer dressed in a cassock. It seemed incongruous at the time but with all the financial scandals around the Vatican and its bank I should not have been so innocent.

    However, rightly I wrongly I think the particular priest changing my money made a small mistake in my favour. I have always felt good about that.

    Like

  5. It’s funny how people of “faith” use that word to denigrate others!

    They have a irony deficiency.

    And it’ll cost you 28 Euro just to take a look at Benedict’s loot…

    And such wonderful loot it is. Religion makes money.
    Money, money, money.
    Lots and lots and lots and lots of money.
    Real money.

    Sell The Vatican, Feed The World (HD, Official)

    Like

  6. It’s ironic how Ken writes an article whose entire purpose is to denigrate others, then imagines a response in kind from a comment that is nothing of the sort.

    Like

  7. WTF ropata?

    What does this little diatribe relate to?

    Like

Leave a Reply - please be polite to other commenters & no ad hominems.

