NZ blog rankings update

Just want to clarify the status of the rankings of NZ blogs I have been providing. A blogger had claimed that the system is “broken” – I assure you that is incorrect.

Monthly rankings

These are up to date, largely automatic and reliable. They rely on public access to statcounters, sitemeters, or similar icons installed on blogs.

I post these every month, usually on the first of the following month. You can access an archive (including the latest) of these rankings at the Blog Ranks Page.

I think most people are interested in monthly rather than daily data because these even out fluctuations to some extent

Daily averaged ranking
I had a system which automatically posted a ranking based on daily averages. This enable a snapshot – which of course did not compensate for variations.
Currently that is not operating because of changes to the way statcounter reports it’s data. So far I have not had the expertise or free time to institute an automatic work around. Bloody hell, I dont even have a computer at the moment.

When I get my new computer I will change the settings to remove access to that spreadsheet until it has been corrected.

Hopefully that will prevent this sort of misunderstanding.

Add your blog
Meanwhile, I assure you I am interested in making the rankings as inclusive as possible. The current system already lists more than 250 NZ blogs.

I believe a system using blog visit stats is far more realistic than anything based on a numbers taken from a single ranking source like Alexa. These are often very misleading.

So if you have a NZ blog which is currently unlisted please consider installing a meter which enables public access to your stats. If you do, let me know and I will add your blog to the ranking system.

2 responses to “NZ blog rankings update

  1. I didn’t know about this ranking I’m going tol add my blog :)

    Regards

    Like

  2. Put a sitemeter on your blog and let me know. I’ll put you in the database.

    Like

Leave a Reply

